Skip to content
April 21, 2011 / sara wheeler

A Life Refreshed

I thought it had been a while since I shared a more personal post, so here it is…

Sometimes, in order to get to a place that is green and lush, we have to journey through rough brush and thorns that seem to be attacking from every side. There are scratches, bruises, tears, wounds that will take so much time to truly heal. And often, it seems like this path is never ending, that the pain and frustrations will just not go away. Moments of desperation, struggling just to breathe.
But then, out of nowhere, there is this moment when you gain a glimpse of hope…a glimpse of something green, something alive…and you press on.

That is the turn I feel my life is taking right now. After months and months of what felt like a battle zone, the Lord is so good, so faithful to bring me to a place of sweet peace. Sweet rest. And I begin to see what He was doing all along. In those moments of deepest pain when I felt He was so distant…He was working in the smallest of details to make a way for certain doors to close so that others would open.

And then joy. Utter joy. That MY GOD, the Creator of every living thing, would take notice of ME, delight in ME…love ME. And pour himself out on me in a way that nothing else in life will ever be able to do.

My heart beats in Him.

 “Do not call to mind the former things, or ponder things of the past. Behold, I will do something new, now it will spring forth; will you not be aware of it?” Isa. 43:18-19

Leave a Reply

